National Standards

The eight NSQHS Standards provide a nationally consistent statement about the level of care consumers can expect from health services.

The National Safety and Quality Health Service (NSQHS) Standards were developed by the Commission in collaboration with the Australian Government, states and territories, private sector providers, clinical experts, patients and carers. The primary aims of the NSQHS Standards are to protect the public from harm and to improve the quality of health service provision.

All public and private hospitals, day procedure services and public dental practices are required to be accredited to the NSQHS Standards. Many other healthcare facilities will also choose to be accredited in order to improve the safety and quality of health care provision.

Links to the NSQHS Standards

Employee Resources

NSQHS Standards: Factsheets

StandardDescriptionDownload Factsheet
1. Clinical Governance

This standard aims to ensure that there are systems in place within health service organisations to maintain and improve the reliability, safety and quality of health care.


2. Partnering with Consumers

This standard aims to ensure that consumers are partners in the design, delivery and evaluation of healthcare systems and services; and that patients are given the opportunity to be partners in their own care.


3. Preventing and Controlling Healthcare Associated Infection

This standard aims to improve infection prevention and control measures to help prevent infections and the spread of antimicrobial resistance through the appropriate prescribing and use of antimicrobials.


4. Medication Safety

This standard aims to ensure that clinicians safely prescribe, dispense and administer appropriate medicines, and monitor medicine use. It also aims to ensure that consumers are informed about medicines, and understand their own medicine needs and risks.


5. Comprehensive Care

This standard aims to ensure that patients receive comprehensive health care that meets their individual needs, and considers the impact of their health issues on their life and wellbeing. It also aims to ensure that risks of harm for patients during health care are prevented and managed through targeted strategies.


6. Communicating for Safety

This standard aims to ensure that there is effective communication between patients, carers and families, multidisciplinary teams and clinicians, and across the health service organisation, to support continuous, coordinated and safe care for patients.


7. Blood Management

This standard aims to improve outcomes for patients by using strategies that optimise and conserve their own blood, as well as ensuring that any blood and blood products that patients receive are safe and appropriate.


8. Recognising and Responding to Acute Deterioration

This standard aims to ensure that acute deterioration in a patient’s physical, mental or cognitive condition is recognised promptly and appropriate action is taken.


National Standards Key Messages Poster

Key messages poster outlining the key messages of the NSQHS Standards


NSQHS Standards: Guides

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this